News from Taiwan.

Publié le par Ian

News from Taiwan. I've got a few since I haven't posted on this blog for a long time.

1- I sold my motorcycle. Lately, I lost interest in riding it. I felt it was time to change it. I have finally decided to wait before I bought an other one. I have not missed it since. (I love the air conditioning in the car. It's hot in Taiwan.) My friend Jorge also offered to lend me his bike when ever I wanted to.

2- As you have seen on this blog, I like to make videos. I think that I have a certain talent for it. The people at the GAFMA race track too. They gave me a contract to make a promotional video for them. (I don't know if or how much it will pay. I was just happy to get the chance demonstate my talent that I forgot to ask about that. Ha ha ha.)

So, yesterday I spent the entire day at the race track filming the car races.
It was fun but.
Even though I was applying sunscreen fps 35 every hours, I got a serious sunburn. (on my arms, face, neck) You know the kind of sunburn that prevents you from taking a shower? That's the one.

At the track, I was also pleased to try my new video equipment. A got a full HD 1920x 1080 video camera. The video feed that is coming out of there is the same quality that you get from TV station that broadcast's in HD. A great piece of equipment.
However when I got home, I had a surprise....

My computer is pretty powerful. 2.8GHz...2 gig of ram and a solid video card. I never had problems watching HD movies or anything else. But apparently it is not powerful enough to edit HD signal. I had to re-encode in DV format to watch the result of the day.
DV format is far away behind in quality compared to HD.

So here I am. I have to go buy a new CPU and motherboard for my PC. I have to double the power of my PC and I didn't plan that in my budget.  :(
The wife was very understanding and told me to do it. There is no point of having an HD camera and not being able to use it to the max of its capability. Plus I made contact with a TV company that was broadcasting the race on TV (I would love to have their equipment) They asked me to show them the final result  (after editing) of  what I did at the track. I don't want to give them something in a low quality format. (I don't have high hopes but, it doesn't hurt to show your craft to professionals. Just getting valuable tips from them would be appreciated.)

The wife is doing good and since I sold the motorcycle, I spend a lot more time with her. I didn't know that I missed her so much. (To busy riding). I spend my weekends at home or on the road with her.
When I used to ride on the weekends, I was really tired when I got home. I didn't have the energy to go out with her to eat or just walk around the city. It has changed now.

So, all is good in my deck of the woods.



Publié dans iantaiwan

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article